Posted in featured, Soups

What to make on a Snowy day in……MARCH?

We live in Iowa- Northeast Iowa- its March 12th, and we are in a winter storm WARNING!  Oh dear!!!!  So let’s have some SOUP AND BREAD BOWLS!!!!  But I didn’t have any yeast……….so I made beer bread bowls!  If I knew how easy beer bread was to make from scratch I would have never spent all that money on Tastefully Simple beer bread mix!  I literally had it mixed up in 5 minutes!!!  Two recipes tonight- both have beer in them!

Recipe 1

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 7.04.16 PM.png

Recipe HERE!

Changes

I actually baked these in my Corelle soup bowls- you can put them in the oven for temperatures up to 350 so I baked them from 30 minutes and perfection!

Difficulty

Very easy- mixed it up in 5 minutes.

Did they Clean Their Plates

In no time flat- they all loved it- Sunday night you know Austin is here and so was Gabe.  Hadley ate one before supper- she loved it!

Keep of Delete

Keep- not only is is easy, and good its very cheap and I always have all the ingredients on hand!!!!

Recipe 2

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 7.05.00 PM.png

I love soup- not always cheese soup- so I did change this a bit!!!  And it was good!

Recipe HERE!

Changes

I didn’t put the jalapenos in it- there is no way Dennis would eat it!  I also added roasted potatoes.  While the veggies were simmering I diced the potatoes, then I tossed them in olive oil and salt and roasted them for 35 minutes or so until they were golden brown- stirring once.  (I also just fished out the veggies with a slotted spoon instead of straining.)

I added them to the soup after the cheese- just to warm them up and keep them perfect.

Difficulty

For me it was easy- for some it might be a little hard but the website will walk you through it if you don’t understand how to make a basic rue.

Did they Clean Their Plates

Seconds for everyone!  Really, really, really good.  I would love it with the spice!

Keep or Delete

KEEP!!!  Great on a cold winter……..or snowy March Day!

Leave a Reply

