Posted in Beef

Dennis wanted Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf


Find the Recipe HERE!

I love bacon wrapped meatloaf – love it- this recipe was a little different- it took hamburger and made it into “sushi”. Well I don’t have a sushi mat- I just used aluminum foil- and it was pretty easy.  I used really thick cut bacon from our hog last summer, thinner bacon might have been better- but still good.  I served it with hash browns and glazed carrots!  YUM!
Changes

LOTS!  I pretty much just used the technique!  I really used the Pioneer Woman’s bacon wrapped meatloaf recipe along with this one.  What I really love about the Pioneer Woman’s recipe is the soaked bread in milk or for me half and half.

Here is what you do- Soak bread (two-three slices) in some milk or half and half (just cover the bread), add an egg, dried onions ( 1/2 tbsp) Greek seasoning I used about a tablespoon ( I love the stuff and use it all the time), salt and pepper to taste.  Soak it until you can stir it and it breaks down- 3 minutes or so. If its really runny you can add some bread crumbs  Add your beef (one lb) and stir/mix with your hands.  I let it sit in the fridge for 15 minutes before I spread it on the bacon.

If you make more of a traditional meatloaf cook it for an hour at 375 degrees.  Let rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting or it will fall apart.

Difficulty

It was easy for me- maybe not a beginner- but not too hard.

Did they clean their plates?

Yep- everyone- its Sunday night so Austin was here- not sure he tasted it- it was gone before I took a bite!  Harper got seconds!  Hadley didn’t like the onions in it, but she still ate it.

Keep or Delete

KEEP!  It was a really good way to make the meatloaf and it looks so cool when you make it!

Leave a Reply

